Maine Earned Paid Leave

EMPLOYERS: New Law In Effect January 1, 2021

Maine’s new Earned Paid Leave Law and rules require that employers* with more than 10 workers provide earned paid leave equal to or in excess of the new law.

Download the following information as 1-page PDF

Which employees count as eligible workers?

  • The following categories of workers count toward the 10-employee minimum and are eligible to earn paid leave:
  • Work 120 calendar days a year or more;
  • Located in Maine
  • Covered employees defined by 26 MRSA §1043(11), including:
    • Part-time
    • Full-time
    • Temporary
    • Per Diem
    • TIP: Employees listed on quarterly report to Bureau of Unemployment Compensation are likely to be covered.
  • Does NOT include employees covered by a collective bargaining agreement until the next agreement cycle.

What leave does the law require?

  • Leave is accrued at a rate of 1 hour per every 40 hours worked, up to 40 hours a year.
  • Paid at prior week rate of pay (Variable pay-rate workers, divide prior week earnings by hours worked)
  • Time off may be used for any reason: illness, emergency, vacation, etc.
  • Un-used time may be carried over; but you are only required to accrue up to 40 hours per year

What if I already offer leave?

You may provide a benefit greater than the law requires, but if your current offering does not meet the minimum of the law, you must expand it.

What else should I consider?

We recommend that employers consider implementing written policies that clarify the following topics:

TopicEmployers are Permitted to Establish the Following Written Policies:
Use• Restricting new employee use of earned paid leave for up to 120 calendar days after job start
• Restricting use during defined peak work periods for leave other than emergency or illness
• Restricting use the week after commissions or bonuses are paid
• Establishing a one-hour minimum increment
Notice• Requiring advance notice of up to 4 weeks for leave other than emergency or illness
Accrual & Use Period• Documenting whether the accrual and use period is the calendar year, anniversary year or other 12-month period
End of Employment • Describing whether the balance of accrued earned paid leave will be paid or not when employment ends

Where can I learn more?

*Defined by 26 MRSA §1043(9). Excludes seasonal industry, as defined by 26 MRSA §1251; those that customarily operate during a regularly recurring period of less than 26 weeks. Note: requires filing paperwork to confirm exemption.

Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic CEI offices are closed to the public. CEI staff will be working remotely and want to hear from you! Please reach out to your CEI contact regarding scheduled meetings and/or any questions/concerns. Click here for a list of COVID-19 Business Resources.
toggle